SoftTree Technologies SoftTree Technologies
Technical Support Forums
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
DB AUDIT report viewer fails after database server moved

 
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » DB Audit, DB Mail, DB Tools View previous topic
View next topic
DB AUDIT report viewer fails after database server moved
Author Message
mistihad



Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Country: Canada

Post DB AUDIT report viewer fails after database server moved Reply with quote
Hello all,

We have a sql server where system auditing is enabled. Recently the sql server has moved to a new machine, then the system Auditing has been enabled again but the repository location has been changed to a new database. Now one user has been using DB Audit report viewer to view audting reports from his computer, but after the server has been moved the report viewer fails. So we deleted the server profile in the report viewer and created a new profile for the sql server, but when we try to view any report it gives the error that system auditing is not enabled. I want to add here that when we created the new profile in report viewer, it asked whether the profile would use the repository info from master database and we tried choosing yes and no, but getting the same error.

Please let me know how to fix this error.

Thanks.
Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:52 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
Please check the properties of db_audit login on the server. The default database for that login should be set to the local repository database. If it is not, please fix it. Hope this helps.
Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:00 pm View user's profile Send private message
shaffatali



Joined: 26 Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Post cannot start remote control service Reply with quote
Hello,

We are in a similar situation. The server hosting the alert center s/w was moved to a vm env and the database being monitored was also renamed. Even though I can launch the alert center(by running the master.bat) and run the jobs manually, the scheduled jobs dont run and also when I launch the alert center by running master.bat, it generates a notification "cannot start remote control service". Can we get some help on this?


Regards.

Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:14 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
It sounds like you are dealing with an array of different issues, and yet, they might be related.
The cannot start remote control interface error indicates that it is unable to use port 1097 for the network listener, which is either in use by some other application, or is getting blocked by a local firewall. You need to resolve that first.

Also take a look at log files in the Data subfolder of the Alert Center. Diagnostic messages in these log files may shed some light on the cause of other issues.
Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:03 am View user's profile Send private message
shaffatali



Joined: 26 Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Post Reply with quote
Thanks for the quick response. Will check on the port as advised and also will go through the diagnostic data.


Regards.
Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:03 pm View user's profile Send private message
razabashir



Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Country: Pakistan

Post Reply with quote
Hello all,

We have a sql server where system auditing is enabled. Recently the sql server www.spanishprograms.com
has moved to a new machine, then the system Auditing has been enabled again but the repository location has been changed to a new database. Now one user has been using DB Audit report viewer to view audting reports from his computer, but after the server has been moved the report viewer fails. So we deleted the server profile in the report viewer and created a new profile for the sql server, but when we try to view any report it gives the error that system auditing is not enabled. I want to add here that when we created the new profile in report viewer, it asked whether the profile would use the repository info from master database and we tried choosing yes and no, but getting the same error.
Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:19 am View user's profile Send private message
SysOp
Site Admin


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 6485

Post Reply with quote
You do need to update properties of the db_audit login and in the properties change user's default database to point to the new repository.
Wed Feb 18, 2015 10:45 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    SoftTree Technologies Forum Index » DB Audit, DB Mail, DB Tools All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.